Please note: applications for the 2018 grant round will open Monday, 5 March & close Monday, 7 May. More information coming soon.

The Community Heritage Grants (CHG) program provides grants of up to $15,000 to community organisations such as libraries, archives, museums, genealogical and historical societies, multicultural and Indigenous groups. The grants are provided to assist with the preservation of locally owned, but nationally significant collections of materials that are publicly accessible including artefacts, letters, diaries, maps, photographs, and audio visual material.

The types of projects supported include

  • significance assessments of collections
  • preservation needs assessments of collections
  • conservation activities and collection management, and
  • training workshops.

Read more about past CHG recipients.

Sadie Macdonald's Florence Nightingale medal, awarded in 1953, Queensland Women's Historical Association (CHG recipient 2015)

CHG is funded by the Australian Government through the Department of Communications and the Arts; National Library of Australia; the National Archives of Australia; the National Film and Sound Archive and the National Museum of Australia. 

Community Heritage Grants supported by

National Library of Australia logo

Department of Communications and the Arts logo

National Film and Sound logo

National Archives of Australia logo

National Museum of Australia logo